Many sports players advertise sport related products What are the advantages and disadvantages of this

These days many kinds of sports have become very popular. Sport competitions are attracting millions of people which also makes them perfect resource for promotion of sport related products. Some people tend to believe that it is a bad trend, while others find advertisement by sports players more interesting and helpful comparing to the TV, radio or internet alternatives. This essay will discuss both the advantages and the disadvantages of such advertising strategy.

On the one hand, it usually feels more natural for people to rely on choice of a professional athlete. It is obvious that pro players know how to play their sports and consequently understand important characteristics of the utilised equipment. For example, a professional snowboarder will likely ride the most appropriate board for his style as well as a football player will unlikely use inconvenient boots in an important game. As a result, such endorsement significantly simplifies meal of choice for rookies and ordinary townsfolks.

On the other hand, sports players also need to make some money and, thus, sometimes may advertise products made by brands which pay more. This factor limits opportunities for younger companies that cannot beat offers of rich brands. As a result, it leads to an unfair competition in the market of sports products. For instance, the Nike brand at the start of its story was struggling for years trying to find players and runners for advertising despite the high quality of their shoes and innovative technologies.

In conclusion, while the advertising is just a part of business and, thus, it is not always fair, it still looks more natural and appropriate when sport products are sold by pro players.