Mass media including the Internet, the television, and newspaper in influences our society and shapes our opinions and characters. What is your opinion?

Adult and children are frequently confronted with statements regarding whether mass media influences public perception. Although all of our views might not be changed by mass media, however their influence our thoughts, ideas and views depend on what we read, hear and watch.

Most people have access to a computer these days, and many of us have moved to a much more digital existence. Currently, there are millions of bloggers and literally billions of web pages. The information we receive could have already been biased, manipulated or distorted. If our opinions are developed by reading those information, surely we are vulnerable to such influences, either positively or negatively.

Television, a luxury possessed by few in any given neighborhood just a few decades ago, are now in nearly every household. Through the television, people are able to receive a wide variety of information, ranging from international news to the latest movies. As a result, opinions of people are heavily swayed by the contents of the information developed by the televisions, hundreds of cable TV channels and satellite radio stations. Also, newspapers are readily accessible by a majority of people. In essence, they could convey false information to readers so that people cannot make independent or neutral decisions.

Overall, people's point of views and characters comes from the information that they have access to. Thus, mediums that deliver information to the masses such as the internet, televisions, and newspapers have significant control over their opinions.