Mobile phones have an important role in people's lives. What are the pros and cons of using smartphones?

In today’s world, Smart-phones play a significant role in our lives. The various apps available on Smart phones are indeed the key factor for reducing our intelligence levels. This essay will discuss the merits and demerits of Smart-phones and how it is affecting human intelligence.

First of all, all information can be stored in the smart -phones. This makes it incredibly easier for an Individual to make notes of important dates, key passwords and things to do. Consequently, we seldom use our memory to memorize important tasks. For instance, birthdays, key meeting notes, etc can be saved and pop up messages can be triggered on due dates. This could lead to loss of memory due to excessive dependence on Smart- phones.

Secondly, Smart-phones are embedded with spelling dictionary. Though, this enables, easy typing of messages, this could weaken the vocabulary of young students. As a result, too much dependence on such smart- phones would deter their intelligence. Additionally, Smart-phones also have in built calculator and excessive usage of such device would eventually reduce the mathematical and logical reasoning of individuals. For instance, College students may use Calculators for completion of their thesis and assignments but may suffer drastically in an exam environment.

This essay discussed various features of smart-phones and how it could affect our intelligence. In my opinion, thought Smart- phones are indeed great device to store loads of information, it is slowly decreasing our intelligence due to excessive usage.