Mobile phones have an important role in people's lives. What are the pros and cons of using smartphones?

These days with the number of phone applications and digital photo software, images of models can be edited to look unrealistically perfect. These images could have negative consequences to those that view them. Therefore, this essay will discuss whether or not the media should include more normal looking people in their advertisements.

The inclusion of average looking people in advertisements would reduce the insecurities feelings customers could have. Customers would not feel inferior and have advertised images that they can relate to. For example, Boo, a women’s clothing brand has ditched supermodels for larger looking women to advertise their clothing. Therefore, this has reduced the inferiority complex feelings that women can have once they see an advertisement with as supermodel.

On the other hand, media should be able to choose whom they desire to be on their advertisement. The media should not be concerned about what people’s opinions and feelings are towards photoshopped supermodels. They should do what is best for their business and not try please everyone. For instance, some fashion brands only hire a specific type of women to advertise their clothing because it fits within their business model. Hence, the media should be able to put up advertisements of whoever they want.

In conclusion, this essay has discussed whether or not more normal people should be included in advertisements. The essay has looked at two main points, the inclusion of average looking people to reduce insecurities and that the media should choose who they want at their own discretion. In my opinion, I believe media should include more average looking, people because it reduces insecurities some people might feel.