Most alcoholics purchase liquor legally. According to your point of view, should stores in general be legally allowed to sell liquor to alcoholics?

The topic of this essay is to discuss if stores should legally be allowed to sell liquor to alcoholics. In my opinion the stores should be allowed to sell liquor to alcoholics legally. It has various implications if the liquor is not sold to alcoholics legally.

To begin with it will give raise to illegal ways of selling liquor to alcoholics as they would resort to various ways through which they can get access to liquor which is now not sold in stores. Moreover this would rob the government of taxes which could have been levied on liquor and could be used for other welfare purposes for the benefit of people.

There were many instances in modern history which shows that, by not selling liquor to alcoholics it would raise other illegal routes like smuggling, where government would loose tax revenues, also there are no references which show that by stopping the stores to sell liquor to alcoholics their number would reduce over a period of time. It could only increase otherwise.

In conclusion i would only support the idea of selling liquor legally in stores as it would have more benefits to government and indirectly to people as there are no empirical evidences to show that there is reduction in number of alcoholics if we implement this policy.