The Claim that animals have rights has been subjected as a matter of debate since the 1970's. Are zoos helping or hurting our animals? Should zoos be banned?

This essay discusses about the merits and demerits of banning zoos. The author wants to ‘s understands if the animals are better off if they are put is zoos or if left free in their natural habitat which is the forest. Zoos are controlled environment for animals which are maintained and monitored by several people taking care of them.

The advantages of maintaining the animals is zoos are that they are safe without any threat from being killed due to any unforeseen situation which would not be the case if they are in a forest. Moreover, this would be very useful for endangered species which are on the brink of extinction, to be put in zoo and taken care and make sure that their kind lives and expands. Another advantage of zoos is that they can be a source of knowledge and entertainment for people to know about different kind of animals who would otherwise be bereft of this experience.

However, there could be few disadvantages to put the animals in zoos. The most obvious one among them is that they do not have the freedom which they have in the forest, which is their natural habitat. Also, they are in the controlled environment which could not be suitable for all the species of animals.

In conclusion animals can be put in wild life sanctuaries instead of zoos as wild life sanctuaries are very large in area and they resemble forests to some extent where animals can live with freedom, albeit under control and supervision of responsible people.