Most artists earn low salaries and should, therefore, receive social welfare from governments in order for them to continue their work. Discuss the extent to which you would agree/disagree with this statement. Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience and examples.

Nowadays, governments give social welfare to artists, which has attracted many controversies and drawn attention from the public. It is agreed that these artists do not have such high income, while on the other hand, should be supported in this way. In my opinion, governments should support these low earning artists. This essay will elaborate on both sides and thus, will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are various reasons why artists should receive funds from governments and the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that they do not earn enough for their livelihood. As an illustration, most of them are hardworking but still are not able to support their families. By this way, government funding offers little support to ease their distress.

Nevertheless, there are some downsides, which can certainly overwhelm the effect of social welfare by the government, and the most alarming one roots from the fact that most of these individuals misuse the funds. For instance, these individuals resort to drugs and drinking when they get money without doing anything. Moreover, they become unproductive and lazy. Hence, this merits the case that free social welfare makes them useless and adversely affect their families.

In the light of above discussion, it is concluded that governments should help the low earners by providing social welfare, however, this welfare would be more appropriate if they will be in kind and not cash.