Nowadays age discrimination in any company has become a common trend. Do you think it is a positive or a negative development?
These days it has become a growing trend to see an upsurge in age discrimination in any
company. In my opinion, this trend gives birth to greater concerns, which will be explored
below.
The drawbacks of this practice are manifold. The salient one is that young people are often
immature and cannot handle too much pressure at work. Not only do they fail to cope with
tremendous work pressure, but they also fail to take appropriate decision, which can be
sometimes harmful for the company. There is no doubt that a company needs those
employees who have plenty of knowledge and experience in their own field. Needless to
say, it is the senior employees who can keep the company in a preponderant position, in
terms of its productivity.
Another important aspect of age discrimination is that it will not be an easy task for
employers to train the younger employees. This will cost time and money. On the contrary,
experienced employees need no training except in modern technologies, which should not
be a big concern at all. Hence, it is apparent why many are against favoring young
employees in a company.
To conclude, it is evident from the above discussion that no matter how energetic
youngsters are, old employees deserve greater attention and respect, as they are more
effective for the development of any company.