Parents should be held legally responsible for children s act What is your opinion

The importance of whether parents should be held reliable for the unlawful activities which was always debatable has now become more controversial with many people claiming that it is beneficial while others reject this notion. The substantial influence of increase in juvenile crime has sparked the controversy over the potential impact of this trend in the recent years. In my perspective, the latter proposition appears to be more rational. This essay will further elaborate my reasons for favoring the negative effect of this trend and this will lead to a logical conclusion.

There are myriad of reasons which will further explain this argument but the most preponderant one stems from the fact that teen age is a transitional period for children and therefore they are easily mislead into evils of the society. For instance, according to the recent research in one of eminent university of the world, it has found that during teen age, it is media and their peers who have a greater impact on them rather than their parents. Another pivotal aspect of this argument is that at this age, children come out of the shadows of their parents. Needless to say, these demerits have a for reaching impact on the life of both parents as well as children.

Elaborating my view point this trend has more demerits but one of the crucial one is that punishing the parents who have not committed the crime is lawfully unjustified. As a result, it is unfair to punish them for a misdeed they never did. Besides, when the parents come to know about their children illegal activities, they already undergo a lot of pain, so it is not ethical to take a punitive action against them. Hence, it is apparent why many are against the notion of punishing parents.

According to this argument aforementioned above, one can reach a conclusion that the drawbacks of parents being hold responsible for their child crime are indeed too dire to ignore.