A recent study has shown that over 50% of school children cannot write legibly. The researchers concluded that the widespread use of smartphones, tablets and computers by children from as young as 12 months old was to blame. We are now living in a “post-paper” world where people are connected to one device or another at all times.

Should schools stop teaching handwriting entirely and focus instead on their typing skills? Is handwriting no longer relevant?

In technological era, there is much debate on whether children should focus on handwriting or typing skills. Some people believe that school should stop teaching handwriting entirely and focus instead on their typing skills as it is no longer relevant. While others argue that handwriting is more helpful to learn basic things. I am inclined to believe that school should focus on children’s handwriting though typing skills have become essentially these days. This essay will discuss both side in detail and lead to a plausible conclusion.

To commence with, handwriting is a basic tool which school should teach to every child as it is used in many subjects like taking notes, taking tests and doing classroom works and homework for almost every content area. And handwriting plays vital role in their academic performance and build up their confidence, where poor handwriting can have a pervasive effect on their school performance. For example, when children learn how to write letter “m”, they can learn its sound and attention to linkage among handwriting, reading and spelling skills.

On the flip side, typing skills will help children to save a lot of time and save the cost of stationary which indirectly save the planet. Therefore, some schools are focusing more on typing skills which will also help children to get job and earn well in future and have a better life. For instance, my friend had an excellent typing skill and she became a content writer and earns well. Therefore, typing skills open career opportunity for children.

In conclusion, the foregoing discussion propounds the view that although typing skills help children in today’s technological era to survive, still good handwriting helps them to improve their academic performance and boost their confidence.