A recent study has shown that over 50% of school children cannot write legibly. The researchers concluded that the widespread use of smartphones, tablets and computers by children from as young as 12 months old was to blame. We are now living in a “post-paper” world where people are connected to one device or another at all times.

Should schools stop teaching handwriting entirely and focus instead on their typing skills? Is handwriting no longer relevant?

There is an old saying that good handwriting reflects person’s personality. The researchers concluded that the widespread use of smartphones, tablets and computers by children from as young as 12 months old was to blame to not have a legible handwriting. We are now living in a “post-paper” world where people are connected to one device or another at all times. I am inclined to believe that school should focus on children’s handwriting though typing skills have become essentially these days. This essay will discuss why school should keep teaching handwriting and it’s still holding immense importance and thus lead to a reasonable conclusion.

To commence with, the first and foremost, school should emphasize to teach handwriting because it is a basic tool and used in many subjects like taking notes, taking tests and doing classroom works and homework for almost every content area. Good handwriting helps children in their academics’ performance and build up their confidence. For example, in recent study shows that children who have good handwriting do 70% better in academics as compare to poor handwriting children. Therefore, handwriting helps children to perform better in academics which eventually boost their confidence.

To continue with, handwriting is still relevant to our lives as its not only help children in their academic performance but also help them to get a decent job. Many companies have a writing test before interviewing the candidate and hire writing analysts to judge and guess candidates’ qualities and personality. For instance, many MNC hire writing analysts and offer them a handsome package. So, handwriting is still closely link with their career.

In conclusion, the forgoing discussion propounds the view that school should focus to teach handwriting skills as it helps children to excel in their academics and later earn well.