As a result of advances in medical care, average life expectancy is increasing for men and women. Do you think most people will see this as a positive development? What are the disadvantages of an ageing population for individuals and society? Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience or observations.

Modern medicine has been growing rapidly in the twenty-first century and regarding its fast development, life expectancy is increasing. The question is: do people consider it a positive result? In my opinion, although increasing of the life expectancy might lead to an aging population in some societies, the advantages certainly outweigh the disadvantages in terms of health and social aspects.

By increasing the life expectancy, the population of the elderly is also rising and in societies where the rate of birth is lower than death, issues might be felt by individuals as well as society. In such cases, problems including depression would have the potential to be spread out among the people due to the lack of enthusiasm. Moreover, the society would be faced with the shortage in the workforce and therefore providing several facilities including pension schemes will encounter problems.

However, rising of the life expectancy along with high birth rate has lots of pros considering health aspects. In the past, older people usually experienced hard times because their illness remained unknown. But, nowadays, regarding significant advances in medical sciences, many diseases can be easily predicted, recognized, and treated.

In addition, increasing the number of the healthy aged people has many benefits regarding social aspects. People who get aged have many experiences and so they can become advisors in different institutions related to their field of activities, while in the past the society loosed them before they can act as advisors and direct youth.

In conclusion, although aging population along with a low rate of birth can bring problems to the individuals and the society such as increasing of the depression and lower number of workforce, by increasing of the life expectancy, aged people can experience a healthier life and the society can benefit from their extensive experiences.