As a result of advances in medical care, average life expectancy is increasing for men and women. do you think most people will see this as a positive development? What are the disadvantages of an ageing population for individuals and society? Support your points of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience or observations.

As medical care improves and the life expectancy of men and women increases, there are a number of consequences that will arise for future generations. Some of these will be beneficial, but some could cause issues.

Most people would like to live longer, provided they can maintain a good quality of life. This requires good health, money and the desire to participate in an active lifestyle. some elderly people have had the opportunity through their working life to save for their retirement, while others may be fit, healthy and enthusiastic about working well into their sixties or seventies. For all these people, living longer is likely to be a positive experience.

however, there are other elderly people who have not been able to provide for their old age or who, despite improved medical care, struggle to lead a healthy life. My grandfather, for example, was a builder all his life. He never managed to save for his retirement and despite medication to stabilize his health problems, he is unable to continue working. For him, old age is a constant worry.

As far as society is concerned, another negative consequence of people living longer is the effect this could have on the workplace. Currently, most people retire in their sixties and this allows the younger generation to move into the jobs they have left. As people stay on at work, the turnover of jobs declines making more difficult for younger people to get work.

On balance, I believe that improving medical care in order to extend life expectancy is a good thing. However, governments must ensure that young people are not deprived of jobs and that old people who cannot support themselves are well looked after.