As a result of advances in medical care, life expectancy is increasing for both men and women. Do you think most people will see this as a positive development? what are the disadvantages of the ageing population for individuals and the society? Support your point of view with reasons / or examples from your own experiences and observations?

Advancements in medical technology has resulted an increase in life expectancy for both genders. While some people consider presence of aged person’s as a good omen, others maintain the availability of old age people as a burden on the society as well the individual. There exists both merits and demerits of ageing population, however, I am of the opinion that the former outdo the later.

Firstly, old age people have proved to be an asset to the society as well as to their families. Moreover, utilizing their experiences they can teach values and act as motivator for the societies. For instance, presence of grandparents at a home will enable the young parents to work freely without any worries related to the grooming and upbringing of their children which would be done by the grandparents in an immaculate manner.

Additionally, all household chores and matters can be better looked after by elderly in a befitting manner as the young people are unable to make out time to maintain equilibrium in family relationships. Not only the relationships and upbringing of children is one sore point but also advice in better financial management can also be sought from elderly.

To conclude, I opine that merits of presence of aged people in a society triumph over demerits as they prove to be beneficial for their families in all domains.