All over the world, societies are facing a growing problem with obesity. This problem affects both children and adults.

What are the reasons for this rise in obesity,

How could it be tackled?

Obesity is a rising problem in the world today. The main cause of this problem is unhealthy eating habits and the most viable solution is a public awareness campaign warning people about the dangers of eating junk food.

The principle cause of the rise in obesity is the over reliance of junk food by people. Junk food is processed food which is manufactured in mass quantities for quick human consumption. Apart from being tasty, this type of food is often not regulated properly and offers little or no nutritional value to an individual. This results in people to suffer from health problems, such as heart diseases and diabetes, at a very young age. For example, a recent survey by the American Food Association found that 60% people prefer to eat burgers and pizzas from restaurants rather than homemade dishes, because it tastes better than the latter.

To tackle this problem the government should launch a publicity campaign in the media and schools to educate people about the dangers of consuming such unhealthy food. Many people do not understand the detrimental health implications of consuming sugar-rich and calorie dense foods. An awareness campaign could shed some light on this difficult situation and enable people to make more informed decisions towards their health. For example, a similar exercise in Japan resulted in a 20% decrease in people reducing their intake of sodas and colas to counter the rampant spread of diabetes across the county.

In conclusion, obesity is a major issue that is plaguing our society today that can result in massive health problems in later stages of life, however, it can addressed by educating people about the dangers.