Since time immemorial, health has been a popular topic of research. Scientists have published infinite research papers on activities that are good and bad for health. However, a huge number of people ignore the health warnings and continue to engage in unhealthy activities. In this essay, a few such unhealthy habits will be discussed and possible causes of indulgence of people in such activities will be analysed, Suggestions to tackle unhealthy habits will also be listed.

Firstly, the most unhealthy habit that results in the death of thousands of people worldwide, every year, is cigarette smoking. The tobacco and nicotine content in cigarettes has been proved to be the cause of lung cancer among smokers. Secondly, consumption of alcohol is another unhealthy practice that is affecting the lives of millions of people worldwide. According to medical experts, excessive consumption of alcohol causes irrepairable damage to the lives and digestive system. Thirdly, increased consumption of sugary fizzy drinks has many harmful effects on the human body and has provided to be the leading cause of diabetes and childhood obesity.

The main reason for educated people to continue indulging in activities that are known to be harmful to their health is their addiction to certain things. People who are addicted to smoking and drinking often indulge in these activities to calm down or relieve their stress.

Tackling this widespread problem requires governmental intervention, in my opinion. If more takes are imposed on cigarettes, alcohol and fizzy drinks, they will become expensive, which might force people to give them up. Besides, more awareness campaigns to highlight the detrimental effects of smoking and drinking should also be organised.

To sum up, indulgence of people in unhealthy activities is mainly due to their addiction to certain things. Imposition of higher taxes on some products might make them out of the reach of a few people; however total abstinence will only be possible if people take the initiative themselves to give up their unhealthy habits in order to lead a healthier and more meaningful life.