Should marketing for consumer goods companies like clothing and food focus on

reputation or on short term strategies like discount and special offers? Why?

Marketing strategy plays a important role in the growth of a firm. The importance of companies focus on reputation or on short term strategies was always a debatable topic. I would advocate to invest in special discounts and offers on regular intervals. The following essay would further elaborate why companies should follow short term strategies with clear examples and thus lead to a plausible conclusion.

To begin with, companies have to spend on advertising to promote special offer campaigns. For example, when Nestle promotes its Maggie noodles at special discounted price, it will attract more customers than its original price. This example clearly explains that Nestle will not only promote their product but also build a reputation in the market.

Moreover, short term discounts can boost up revenues of the company. Take for instance, Start ups hit the markets with weekly or monthly offers. This strategy generates excess revenues for the short period of time. This example evidently shows that the special offers can effectively contribute to the growth of a company. From this, it can be said that the former strategy can kill two birds at once.

In a nutshell, concentrating on discounts and offers strategy will reap more benefits as it also contributes to publicity of the companies. Therefore, I strongly believe that following this strategy will lead to progress of the company.