It has been debated for a long time whether to openly promote multinational companies to establish their business in your country or support national organizations to flourish and expand their business nationwide. I certainly agree with the latter viewpoint and opine that helping local companies of the nation at expanding their businesses will eradicate the dependency on foreign firms, and it contributes is to the local economy.

With better government policies and ease in doing business, local companies expand their reach to all the regions of the country, and it eliminates the dependency on foreign products made in multi-national companies. Furthermore, a product made by a state-owned company contributes less tax as compared to a foreign organization, and this results in less cost of production, and goods and services are made available by local companies at a much lower cost. This benefits not only the people of the community to have low priced products but also hinders the monopoly of foreign companies. For example, in countries like India, the government has introduced better policies for small scale businesses to promote indigenous products and eradicate the dependency on foreign firms.

Secondly, country-based companies provide better job opportunities to the local people of the region, and these jobs are much easily available for the citizens of the country. Despite the high standard of local firms, the entry-level requirements, like academic background and past job experiences, are much favourable to a large group of people. This results in the downfall of unemployment and creates an opportunity for an underprivileged group of society to earn money and live a respectful life. Some Indian government companies, TATA consultancies LTD., for example, hire un-experienced college graduates and provide good salary packages as compared to multi-national companies.

Taking all this into consideration, whether to allow foreign companies to establish their business in your country, or promote local companies is a long debatable topic. I strongly believe that helping the country based companies made a nation independent, and provide better job opportunities to a larger group of people.