Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In this current era, inevitable competition conditions and future career expectations are getting faced by children in the very early stages of development and growth. Due to this, children are getting inculcated with enormous knowledge and extreme study curriculum that is eventually causing harmful effects in their natural growth process. And, introducing foreign language study at such early stages can help them in many ways, but introduces some serious drawbacks which cannot be overlooked.

Since, human's learning thrive is extremely higher and productive at the early stage as children, so, knowing or learning a foreign language at younger age is much easier as compared to the latter. Also, with the commencement of whole new level of grammar, rules and learning which is extremely novel, can actually help in providing positive impact on their thinking and future life. Moreover, learning new language helps in improving cultural horizon and providing crucial cross-cultural awareness leading to overall personality development.

In contrast, exposure to such overwhelming content of new language can affect their learning ability to learn their actual mother tongue properly. As, they might get confused between parts of speech, intonations and other language intricacies. Also, this might introduce less devotion on core subjects such as Mathematics, Science etc, which is very important for their future growth and development. Eventually, such cumbersome curriculum will introduce too much load on these young kids, which can cause other unwanted health issues and problems, that can be avoided if demands would have been set within the acceptable limits.

Hence, it can be concluded that introducing foreign language at primary school is beneficial to the children but comes with serious inevitable limitations which cannot be neglected so easily.