Some people say law can change human behaviour. Do you agree?

The importance of law changing behaviour, which was always debatable, has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of rules and regulations has sparked the controversy over the potential impact of this trend on human conduct in the recent years. It can be said that imposing laws is crucial for maintaining the safety of a society. This essay will elaborate on how people avoid making mistakes because of laws and how some people still disobey regulations and thus will lead to a reasoned conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why having laws alter people’s behaviour, but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that law instils fear in people’s mind so that they prevent from wrongdoing. As an illustration, driving being influenced by alcohol is illegal in many counties and being caught can result in heavy fines, which make people fear for doing that. Moreover, it will reduce road accidents, leading to safer society. Thus, law is necessary for a nation.

Nevertheless, there remain some drawbacks, which can certainly overwhelm the potential influence of the introduction of laws, but the most alarming one is rooted in the fact that some individuals violate the regulations either intentionally or unintentionally, which can lead to negative consequences. For example, drinking in a public place where it is prohibited to do so can be problematic to both the law breaker and the surrounding people. Therefore, law is not always a way to make people behave well.

From what has been discussed above, it can be concluded that the impact of law on human behaviour is prominent, although the way some contravene law should be well-handled.