Some people say law can change human behaviour. Do you agree?

The role of laws in bringing a positive change in people’s behaviour is widely debated, with many people claiming that human behaviour is rarely affect by enforcing stringent rule-setting. However, I do not entirely accept this and will explain why in this essay.

There is a myriad of arguments in favour of my stance. The most conspicuous argument lies in the fact that rigorous rules can endanger fear among miscreants, who mostly commit crimes because of the leeway they enjoy in breaking the law. Not only these stringent rules make people aware that their illegal or unlawful activities will result in severe punishment such as financial penalty, jail term or even death sentence, but the likelihood that they will indulge in criminal activities is also bound to decline. Needless to say, all these benefits stand people in good stead, as far as making them disciplined is concerned.

Another argument in favour of rule-setting can be seen in childhood, when a child learns to do things following a proper order set either by their parents or by their teachers. Besides, by sticking to these rules and regulations, children not only learn essential attributes like discipline and punctuality, but also excel in academic studies. Hence, it is apparent why many believe that human behaviour is immensely shaped by law and order.

In view of the arguments outlined above, once can conclude that the benefits of strict rules in shaping human behaviour is instrumental indeed.