Some people say modern children's games do not develop a wide range of skills, while traditional games can be much better for developing such skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this highly competitive world, acquiring a variety of abilities has become far more important than ever before. However, some argue that traditional games can better develop some skills than the contemporary games. I opine that this view is not entirely true as both types of activities have their distinct advantages.

On the one hand, modern games have their own advantage. Firstly, modern games are often operated on technologies such as computers and many of them was designed to serve an educational purpose. There are usually a wide range of different categories of games such as operational, cerebral and typing games that are better developed than the traditional games to help the young children to be familiar with activities in this era. Children are able to cope with nowadays’ technologies via such games, they are essential for them in their adult lives which no other conventional activities are able to do.

On the other hand, some classical games will help to stimulate other skills. Cooperation and communication abilities are better adapted from playing classical games such as card games. These games are often required to join a group of people in order to run. In this case, children would have to collaborate and work with other participants, which will strengthen their ability to converse and negotiate, or pay attention to other’s feelings. Such skills are extraordinarily useful in one’s future career.

In conclusion, I still reckon that skills gained from both activities can contribute significantly to an individual, there is no such thing as one is better than the other.