Some people say that relationships should be based on honesty and trust. Others believe that it is sometimes necessary to be dishonest in order to maintain harmony.

Which approach do you consider to be better in relationships and why?

The type of relationships we have with a partner, friends, parents, children, relatives, office-colleagues and neighbors are all different. Honesty and trust, however, are the key elements for long-term relationships in almost all areas of life. In my opinion, without these qualities, a relationship can only be based on mistrust and suspicion.

Trust develops gradually throughout a relationship, yet dishonesty can easily destroy this trust. For example, if a person lies to someone, it is probable that the other person will eventually realize they have been deceived and as a result, they will be less likely to trust that person in the future. On the contrary, relationships in which people are honest with one another are likely to remain strong and healthy.

Being honest, on the other hand, does not mean people should always say what they know, think or feel. It is, for instance, sometimes better to say nothing than to say something that might hurt another person’s feelings. Also, some people believe that in certain social situations it is better to be dishonest in order to avoid embarrassing another person and to maintain harmony. However, although this hides conflict in the short term, this conflict still exists and may be expressed in a destructive way at a later stage.

In conclusion, because harmonious relationships are important, people must find ways to live with others and to deal with the conflicts that are an unavoidable part of life. Dishonesty is only a short-term solution that will eventually destroy any type of relationship.