Some universities deduct marks from students' works if given in late, what are your views and what action will you recommend to take?

Nowadays, there is an ongoing debate for universities cutting marking for late submission of assignment, which attracted plethora of controversies and drawn attention from public. It can be said that, to teach disciplines to students some strictness is require, while on the other hand stands a prospective that some other methods can be implemented which can solve these problems. This essay will elaborate both sides and thus lead for logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are myriads of examples when universities take action for late submission of assignments, and the most conspicuous one stem is to deduct marks from students' work, which is a way to teach students for their work importance and their adverse effect. As per recent survey conducted by TOI newspaper resulted, 60% of students doesn't consider their assignment importance and mostly submit their assignment after due date, which enforce institutes to take some action. Therefore, cutting marks from students work is in favor of universities to maintain decorum.

On the other hand, some people believe some other action could be taken, because sometime students didn't understand the assignment which is the main reason for delay in their work submission. To consider this fact, in these cases students should report the same to their faculty for more understanding about topic, as well as its teachers responsibility also to give them proper guidance. To cite an example, some students do not understand "how life expectancy is curse" in these cases professor can explain about topic to provide them direction for assignment.

In light of discussion above, it can be concluded that education institution system as well as students has to work together for improvement assignment submission process and consider these as their part of studies which can help both universities and students.