Is studying film as important as studying literature?

Since the invention of the movie, watching films have become a virtually inevitable part of modern life. Some people argue films should be embedded in the curriculum as they are as vital as studying literature; opponents claim films are just wastage of time. Despite literature being key to improving reading comprehension, I am profoundly inclined to believe that studying drama at school is as prominent as literature; thus, it can be utilized as a powerful education tool. Whether film-based instructions are as important as literature will be further elaborated on in the following paragraphs.

First of all, films provide not only children but also adults with a myriad of benefits, and the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that people can build stronger emotional connections with what they watch. As a result, they can relate to themselves better which stimulates student learning without boredom. However, this may not always the case with literature because some students actually hate studying literature. For instance, the data yielded by a reputable high school in the UK in 2017 proves that students obtained higher exam grades when they learned literature syllabus through dramas than when they learned through conventional means.

Second of all, another key value of film in education is that it is a leveller and it has a universal language. For example, students can discuss their opinions about a drama even if they have learning disabilities, which will ultimately promote the development of their social skills. Furthermore, reading literature can be challenging which might hinder the learning process.

In conclusion, the foregoing discussion propounds the view that films are as much prominent as literature in a school curriculum. It is expected that executive head teachers will take cognizance of this fact and include studying films at school as an option for pupils just like music and art.