For a successful company, selling products depends more on company's reputation or it depends more on if they provide discount and free offers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Before we dive in to discuss what is more fruitful, we first need to understand what the two key phrases in the question refer to.

First, how do we define “a successful company”? While it evidently denotes to a profitable business, for many business owners, it also refers to being able to contribute value to their customers and other stakeholders. Now, what makes any company a “reputed one”? A company can build a positive reputation in two manners: one, by producing good products, and two, by robust public relations activity including Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR).

A reputed company on the basis of option one or the combination of both the options would be successful in selling more products and discounts might not even be necessary. If the aspect of discount is applied on top of that, it may act as a catalyst to the increase of sell and competitive advantage. However, a reputation built solely via good public relation would struggle to draw in sells. This proves that the quality of the product is the top priority when it comes labelling a company a “reputed company”.

To support that with data, we may refer to First Insight’s report on consumer mindset where 53% of consumers prioritized quality over price while making a purchase decision. Having said that, considering the buying power of most consumers and increasing competition, discount indeed plays an indispensable role in getting more sales. However, providing more discounts may result in less credence in product quality.

Therefore, while there might be several arguments, a company’s reputation built over product quality always outweighs discounts when it comes to making a successful company. Because ultimately, if the product fails to meet the customers’ quality expectation, there might not be any purchase from the brand in the future.