Is television a form of entertainment or information? Discuss your views.

Recently, the phenomenon of the TV set and its corresponding impact has a heated debate. Although contested by many that the matter of watching television as an entertainment device is highly beneficial, such issue is regarded thoroughly both constructive and positive by a substantial number of individuals. I am inclined to believe that using the TV as a form of information can be a plus, and I will analyze that throughout this essay.

From a social standpoint, an extensive range of information program in TV can provide the society with some noticeable effects which are rooted in the fact that merits of raising public awareness in terms of economic or medical field, as well as, beneficial programs are inextricably bound up. According to my own experience, when I was a university student, I performed an academic experiment which discovered the influence of entertainment programs on the young generation. Thus, beneficial ramifications of both sports events as an amusement program and films or series apparently can be seen.

Within the realm of information and entertainments programs, TV set might increase the consequences of promoting cognitive skills. Moreover, fundamental aspects of the wrong news would relate to this reality that the demerits of time-consuming device pertain to eye vision problem. As a tangible example, some scientific research undertaken by a prestigious university has asserted that the downside of watching television is correlated negatively with obesity. Hence, it is correct to presume the preconceived notion of keeping up with the latest news.

To conclude, while there are several compelling arguments on both sides, I profoundly believe that the benefits of information program in television outweigh its drawbacks. Not only do the advantages of educational programs prove the significance of documentary program, but also pinpoint practical implications.