Television serves many functions. Watching TV makes us relax. We can gain knowledge and information from TV programs. Besides, TV can also be seen as a companion for lonely people. To what extent do you agree with this? Explain it with your own experience.

It is much in discussion and debate these days about the usage and purpose of having a Television. Some believe it aids in entertainment only, while others believe it also serves as a companion for lonely people. Well, it actually depends on a individual person's perspective and how he or she intend to look at these things. People usually have a myriad mindset based on their environment, education, upbringing and their mindset. As far as I am concerned, I would like to put forth my ideas, opinions and perspectives in the following paragraph. I would propound an example before arriving at a reasonable conclusion.

To begin with, I would like to provide my opinion by mentioning that Television is not only an entertainment unit, but also a companion for lonely people. Television was invented in the early 19th century. The sole intention of this invention was entertainment. But at present day, we have many shows being telecasted which would provide education along with entertainment.

Moving forward, I would like to propound an example in the light of recent experience that I have. When I started working a new job in different city, after my work I used to spend my most of the time on weekends watching different shows. If it wasn't for the television, I would have been the lonely person and would have been depressed.

To sum up, I would like to conclude that Television is considered as more than a entertainment unit. It serves as a companion to lonely people.