Tobacco, mainly in the form of cigarettes, is one of the most widely-used drugs in the world. Over a billions adults legally smoke tobacco every day. The long term health costs are high – for smokers themselves, and for the wider community in terms of health care costs and lost productivity.

Do governments have a legitimate role to protect citizens from the harmful effects of their own decisions to smoke or are such decisions are up to individual?

The packet of tobacco itself says that it is extremely dangerous to health and causes cancer but then also people are consuming it blindly without bothering about themselves and their families. Billions lives have been trapped in the arms of tobacco all over the world.

Tobacco, mainly in the form of cigarettes, is one of the most widely-used drugs in the world. Over a billions adults legally smoke tobacco every day. The long term health costs are high – for smokers themselves, and for the wider community in terms of health care costs and lost productivity. According to last census, it is evidenced that in average, four people died a day because of tobacco consumption and no. of deaths are increasing day by day which is a serious issue of the society. It is not true that government is not making any strict laws for this complication but the implementation is not in their hands. People are blindly exploiting the laws without having a thought in their mind that these rules are meant for their benefit. Many movements like Anti-Tobacco Programme initiated to stop the growing and use of this fatal drug, but people caught in addiction, endlessly growing and lengthening the roots of this drug.

In conclusion, tobacco not only kills a person physically but also economically which creates deep impact on his family. At last, the crucial role of government and individual’s effort must goes in parallel to cut the roots of this weed. So, tobacco is not a need, but a useless weed.