Tobacco, mainly in the form of cigarettes, is one of the most widely-used drugs in the world. Over a billions adults legally smoke tobacco every day. The long term health costs are high – for smokers themselves, and for the wider community in terms of health care costs and lost productivity.

Do governments have a legitimate role to protect citizens from the harmful effects of their own decisions to smoke or are such decisions are up to individual?

tobacco consumption is a deep-rooted issue which requires a resolution. it is used in various forms and most popular way to consume is in the form of cigarettes. this essay will discuss how it the combined responsibility of an individual and the government to curb its consumption as it is deleterious for health.

consuming tobacco can lead to serious illness, so it is an individual responsibility to gradually reduce its consumption. The deadly disease such as cancer is caused by tobacco. World health Organisation(WHO) submitted a report which shows tobacco as the 25 per cent cause of deaths among the age group 30-50. In short, eating tobacco is harmful to people and leads to multiple illnesses, hence its consumption must be monitored by the individual.

In addition, the government also plays a vital role, it should ban all advertisements promoting tobacco consumption. There are many organisations, which sell their tobacco product with the help of flashy advertisement which allures people. For example, many advertisement show consumption of tobacco increases your chances of being successful. Overall, the government should make strict legislation to stop these misleading advertisements for tobacco consumptions.

this essay discussed how people and government can together fight a war against tobacco and will eradicate this humungous threat upon an individual. In my opinion, efforts done by an individual and the government will surely bring change.