Violence portrayed on TV and in the movies leads to an increase in crime in our society. People who watch violent movies are more likely to become criminals. Do you agree or disagree?

The effect on violence shown of TV, which was always debatable has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of violence has sparked the controversy over the potential impact on the society in the recent years. In my opinion, there are no reasons why someone watching violent movies are more likely to become criminals, while others may disagree with this opinion of mine. This essay will elaborate both these sides in greater details and thus will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why there is no connection between watching violent movies and becoming criminals, but the most conspicuos one stems from the fact that human being are smart creatures. We have the ability to think for ourselves and choose the one that is suitable. Besides, violence there are lot of other unrealistic stuff that are shown on TV, like people flying or someone coming back from the death and we don't see people believing or atempting any of those. Thus, watching voilent movies have no influence on anyone becoming a criminal.

Nevertheless, some people adopt an opposing view and tend to believe that watching violent movies increases the chance of someone becoming criminal. There are some reasons to back that up, but the most salient one is that people try to imitate their favourite character. For instance, smoking cigaratte is quite common amongs the teenagers. They that it make them look more cool or manly. This concept is engraved is their mind because of violent movies. Hence, the things shown on violent movies have an influence on the minds of young people leading them to more criminal activities.

From what has been discussed above, it can be concluded that parental guidance is required when children are watching violent movies.