What is your opinion on deducting marks on student's work if it is late

With the advancement in the realm of education, there have been numerous changes in the methods of assessing the work. Nowadays, universities deduct the student's marks for the late submission of their work. According to my opinion, it is a good step ahead by education departments. By doing this, pupils will learn a myriad of things. I will delve deeper into this topic in the forthcoming paragraphs.

To commence with, by deducting marks, aspirants will learn the importance of time, which will help them to complete their tasks on time in the future also. For instance, in order to meet the deadlines, scholars can learn the lesson of punctuality; they can nurture this lesson, till the time it gets flourished. Moreover, they will toil hard to meet the deadlines. As a tangible example, a survey undertaken by a prestigious university has asserted that students who work with full determination and are diligent towards their work, are the future entrepreneur.

However, the criteria for the late submission should not be very stringent. And, the professors should help the weak children and there should be remedial classes for them. Along with, there should be regular checkup for the progress of work. Yet, if in any case, the child is not able to complete the task, there should be a proper investigation for the reason of it; afterward, the due date can be extended if required.

To recapitulate it, without even an iota of doubt, the approach for deduction of marks plays a vital role in every student life. However, some highbrows have a different opinion, according to them, it is not beneficial for students, as they might get depressed if they will not be able to complete their task on time.