Whether English will remain to be the global language despite globalization

English has been the dominant global language for a century. English has become the most speaking and understanding language of this world. Despite having many languages around the world, it remains official language in almost 100 countries. In my opinion, I would say that despite globalization, English language will remain to be the global language.

It must be noted that for decades, English is used widely for all the economic, technological and political dealings between the countries. Travelers travelling across the world rely on English. Moreover, increasing number of schools has English as a compulsory subject in addition to their native language. In developing countries such as India and Sri Lanka English language is given more importance than other languages. Eventually, all these significant factors contributed to make English as a predominant global language.

Ever since English has been adopted as an international language, it has become the language of conversation between two people of different countries and cultures. It has rapidly grown as the world language, and now over a billion of people speak it. For example, in any international summit or conference, English acts as the means of communication.

Furthermore, to achieve international peace and coexistence, we need one standard world language, and English has come very close to it. Moreover, the academic curriculum in schools and colleges across the world has made English as their mandatory language.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that the use of English as a highly convenient means of international communication is not likely to change in the foreseeable future and English language seems set to play an ultimate role in the world communications, international business, and social and cultural affairs. Hence I believe that English has been accepted as a language of international communication and will never lose its supremacy.