Nowadays the way many people intrect with each other has changed because of technology.

In what ways has technology affected the type of relationship people make?

has it become a positive or negative development?

This is very true that way of interaction nowadays between people has been changed because of technology and surly this is widely effecting the relations between people.

Earlier when there were no mobile phones, no internet facility, people used to visit there relatives home, they use to sit together, talk about there life, have tea or coffee together. Which surly leads to deepen their relationship and generation of strong feeling toward each other. But now mobile phones and internet comes into picture, things changed. Now people call each other only if they have something important to talk about. Nobody have time to ask each other like "How's life going" or "how is everyone in family" etc. now even person lived in next house they never meet each other , they just call each other only is there is something really important to talk about. All these things limits the meaning of relationship to the official matters only. Now people know each other only if there is some work concerned to them, so here it leads to negative development.

But there is other side of coin too. Earlier if someone's relative lives very far, then they used to express their feeling by writing it on a piece of paper and send it to them and wait for their reply to come which takes up at least 3-4 days to come and this time one's eagerness or willingness to hear the reply dies, this leads to loosen their relationship with each other. But no any one can call anyone can call anybody no matter how far one live. One can instantly call anyone and express his feeling or give him some important information. So here this leads to positive development.