As you read the passage below, consider how Leo W. Gerard usesevidence, such as facts and examples, to support claimsreasoning to develop ideas and to connect claims and evidencestylistic or persuasive elements, such as word choice or appeals to emotion,

In Leo W. Gerrard’s passage, “Grading Colleges on Access to the American Dream”, he explores new ideas regarding colleges and tells that they should be affordable. He talks about how colleges are changing over the years. He uses Vivid language and statistics and data to help himself explain his ideas.

Gerrard uses statistics and data to help us learn about his ideas. He uses this when he states, “Over the past three decades, the average tuition at a public four-year college increased more than 250 percent. Meanwhile, typical family income rose only 16 percent.” (Gerrard 5) This shows about when he uses statistics and data. He tells us about the details and the math that he put in and found out about.

Secondly, Gerrard uses vivid language in his passage. It states, “Right now, eager 18-year-old from across the country are tweeting with bravado photos of their newly posted dorm rooms and scanning with private fear their freshmen class schedules.” (Gerrard 1) This shows the images of the children, and what they believe will happen. This is what Gerrard uses in his passage.

Leo Gerrard writes his passage to help us explore along with him about how he believes colleges are changing. He uses many strategies, but he mainly shows strong signs of vivid language and statistics and data.