Government funding for pure science endeavors, such as space exploration, should be reduced in order to

direct more funding towards humanitarian science projects.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In

developing and supporting your position, be sure to consider specific instances for which this statement

may or may not be true.

Science has always fascinated and aroused human curiosity. His pursuits for understanding science has not only served to quench the thirst of curiosity, but also led him to progress, often in ways which were not even dreamt of. The debate on the allocation of the economic resources on pure scientific research has long been debated. While the ratio of funds spend on various science projects should be decided after a scrupulous analysis, it will not always be right to cut on pure science projects even for allotting more to the humanitarian ones.

Space exploration, as exemplified by the author for a pure science endeavor, has got human utility at its end. While it might seem to some as mere interest of scientists to know about the planets or other celestial bodies in the universe, so far satellites have helped us to achieve a great deal of progress in communication. This does not just mean that people can stay connected and mails reach their dear ones fast. Utilising the prowess of the communication facilities, fields which were once thought totally unrelated to telecommunication has benefitted from it. Advanced medical advice can be sought by a doctor in remote areas of Africa by consulting with the authorities in the specific field of medical discipline, who are the other side of the globe. A resourceful educator could be made available to physically far classrooms, helping the students overcome the disadvantage imposed by their physical location. Accessibility to education and better health services are just two examples which undoubtedly serves towards humanitarian ends, which would not have materialized in the absence of advances in space technology.

Another major field which has benefitted from unrelated fields of science is agriculture. Weather forecasting has achieved an unprecedented progress, thanks to developments in climatic studies along with the achievements in space technology. Results include better agricultural planning and more yields. Also the disaster warning systems which can effectively reduce the loss of life and associated damages in the event of calamities such as Tsunamis and earthquakes are based on the results of studies across various disciplines including oceanographic research, geographical studies etc., which would seem as pure science endeavors when viewed individually.

On the other hand it is true that the scientific projects can take time for us to figure out how the obtained results can be utilised to attain a common good. There could be some other problems which requires our immediate attention, such as a recent disaster or the alarming increase of an unmitigated disease. Even though these situations must tempt to us to halt our effort on all other activities, which seems to meet no tangible human ends, and concentrate on the prevailing problems alone, ultimately it will leave us unprepared and even vulnerable to problems in the future. So it is necessary to value both and act accordingly.

The claim, even when based on noble intents, does not take into consideration the fact that the humanitarian science projects draws from and depends on the fruits of pure science endeavors of the past and cutting down one will eventually weaken the other.