Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children.

Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is no doubt that schools are institutes providing education for the children. However, many people think school teachers should not give homeworks to the children whereas others believe homework is necessary for educating them.

Firstly, homeworks give learners the opportunity to check and practice what they studied in the classes. Students often only practice what they learnt in the school right before the examinations occur but if they have to submit assignments, they would need to overview what they had studied the prior day on a daily basis. Moreover, class time is often limited and the teacher may not be able to solve and check problems of every learners. By giving practices for home, the teachers enable the students to evaluate themselves and thus help them to find out about their own weaknesses in each subjects. In addition, parents again and again complain that children would spend most of their time on their devices whenever they have time. Here, homeworks would essentially prevent the children from using their devices, at least for some time, and focus on other activities.

Although homework is crucial in imparting education, too much of anything can be deleterious. Sometimes teachers give plenty of home assignments without even consulting the learners. As a result, they feel pressured and often ignore their academic responsibilities. This action takes the joy from learning about anything new. The outcome is more prominent in high schoolers. Some studies show that children while going to elementary school felt enthusiastic about attending classes, were reported to feel less motivated to study in high school and the reason behind the change of emotion was considered excessive homeworks.

I believe that while homeworks are obviously necessary, to evaluate the scholars and to keep them practicing what they had learned in classes which will definitely come in handy in the future, too much of it will deter the children from the path of achieving true education.

To conclude, homeworks can utilize the time and talent of the young learners but it is the teachers job to regulate the pressure of performing the home-tasks on their students.