Should marketing for consumer goods companies like clothing and food focus on reputation or on short term strategies like discounts and special offers? In what ways can this impact on their reputation? Why?

Marketing has become a major part of the companies' policy these days. There are areas on which marketing people in consumer-based companies work on such as their goodwill and special offers. This essay will discuss how focusing on reputation will give better results.

To begin with, building a reputation will increase the customers for a company. People tend to buy from reliable companies as they believe that they will not compromise on their quality. For example, Bonanza, a famous clothing company, is the first choice of anybody in Pakistan while buying clothes despite its higher prices as they have maintained their standard throughout the years. Thus, reputation matters in the business.

Secondly, giving priority to reputation helps the companies to stay in the market and create more job opportunities for the people. When companies expand because of good customer response, they need more manpower to operate their businesses. For instance, KFC, a fast food company, brought many employment opportunities in the small cities of Pakistan when its demand was created by good feedback in the larger cities. Therefore, the companies should prefer to maintain their reputation.

In conclusion, reputation plays a vital role in increasing the customers for a company as well as it brings more jobs opportunities in the small cities. In my opinion, building a reputation should be the first priority for any company.