1. The following memo was published by the Welzaton City Commission.

"A recent nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a safety helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, cites a 200 percent increase in the number of serious accidents involving bicycles during the same period. Meanwhile, results of a local survey of frequent bicycle riders indicate that 75 percent of those riders feel 'much safer' on busy roads when they wear helmets than when they don't. The best explanation for the rise in bicycle-related accidents is that bicyclists take more risks now than they did ten years ago because they feel safer when they are wearing helmets."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

Recently, many bicycle-related accidents are occurring in the cities. Regarding this issue, the author concludes that accidents happen due to the misconception that wearing a helmet would preclude accidents from occurring. He presents the evidence to suggest this is valid, including the statistical data of people driving bicycles roughly and feeling secure wearing helmets. Though the underlying issue might be true due to lack of germane evidence, unaddressed assumptions, and vague terminology the author’s argument is unsubstantiated and deeply flawed.

Firstly how can one state that increase in 200% serious accidents involving bicycles are because to people wearing the safety guard and feeling safe about it? There could be numerous reasons other than it, for instance, the increase in urbanizations over 10 years has led to tremendous traffic on the streets, due to which accidents might have occurred. In addition to that accidents also might have occurred due to narrowing of roads or people are driving recklessly on the path.

Meanwhile, the author states the results of the local survey, how does the cyclist saying that they feel safer wearing helmets conclude that they have met with an accident due to that? There is no proper evidence of the same. And also it might be the case that bicycle drivers who are not wearing the head protector are meeting with an accident rather than the ones wearing them. So there is no relevant and appropriate data for the above-stated assumption.

However, the increase in awareness of wearing helmets while peddling from 35% to 80% over a decade could have increased accidents as it is a human tendency to take such risks when you know you have nothing to lose. But the author hasn’t presented any such reasoning that can be acceptable.

So according to the authors of the argument, it could not be predicted that the accidents reached the peaks due to bicyclists taking more risks now than they did ten years ago because they feel safer when they are wearing helmets.