The following memo was published by the Welzaton City Commission.

"A recent nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a safety helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, cites a 200 percent increase in the number of serious accidents involving bicycles during the same period. Meanwhile, results of a local survey of frequent bicycle riders indicate that 75 percent of those riders feel 'much safer' on busy roads when they wear helmets than when they don't. Clearly, the best explanation for the rise in bicycle-related accidents is that bicyclists take more risks now than they did ten years ago because they feel safer when they are wearing helmets."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument

Chat GPT template:

Essay topic:

It is well known that the use of helmet is associated with increased safety of bicycle riders. However, this is not the case in Welzaton City, as this memo tries to establish a link between the increased usage of helmet and shocking increase in the frequency of severe bicycle associated accidents. The memo further postulates a reason, backed by facts, to be the increased risked taken by riders because they feel safe using helmets. While this seems plausible, there are alternate explanations . This response explores some of these explanations and how they account for the facts presented.

Firstly, a major alternate explanation is that the data collected by the survey were not an accurate depiction of the usage of helmets by Welzaton. The argument cites a nationwide survey and infers the result to the current state of welzaton city. In addition to been logically fallacious, this could possibly be a wrong inference. Of the data collected it could be that Welzaton riders did not give any response or their response of not using helmets accounts for the remaining 20% of the survey that do not use helmet. This dismal or no-use of helmet could be responsible for the increase in accident rates.

Secondly, the may have been an increased use of faulty or substandard bicycles. The increase number of poorly maintained bicycles could be responsible for in increased number of accidents. The use of these on busy roads could potentially negate the advantageous effects of increased use of helmets. This could be responsible for the spike in bicycle related despite the increased use of helmets.

In conclusion, while it is possible to associate the increase frequency of accidents to the risking taking tendencies of bicycle riders, it is also important to explore other possible causes of bicycle accidents from this argument. Alternate explanations could be false data on the survey which does not accurately show the extent of bicycle usage by residents of WElzaton city; use of faulty and poorly managed bicycles on busy roads. Ruling out these explanation among others confirms the explanation provided.