105. The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of Butler Manufacturing.

"During the past year, workers at Butler Manufacturing reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. A recent government study reports that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents. If we shorten each of our work shifts by one hour, we can improve Butler Manufacturing's safety record by ensuring that our employees are adequately rested."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

in the given argument, the author state the reasons for conclusion he/she has drawn. the author states the following as reasons: a) more number of accidents compared to the other plant b) the theory set forth by experts. however none of these reasons prove to have any substance.

Firstly,the comparison drawn is not apt and reliable as it has several assumptions. the author failed to mention if butler manufacturing and panoply industries plant are in the same line of work. there is not one statement in the argument which tells us about the machinery or equipment used in both of these companies. therefore, it is presumptuous to believe that the comparison of 30% more on the job accidents are drawn on equal platforms. further more, we do not know the number of workers other number of shifts panoply industry plant has. if it has more number of ships or more number of workers then butler manufacturing, the lesser number of working hours are justified.

secondly, the experts only talk about the significant factors they've concluded in their works but there is no evidence which suggest that these theories are completely applicable to butler manufacturing. also, there has been no mention of whether the current working as resulting in sleep deprivation for the workers. Lastly, the assumption that more of sleep results in increased productivity is highly debatable. no solid evidence proves this and thus, could be considered weak.

the overall argument has been full of weak assumptions and baseless conclusions. the author could have strengthened the claims by providing solid evidence supporting his theory. For example, if the author had perhaps been more descriptive about the work of the experts or if the author could have given as a better insight into the conditions at panoply industries plant, the claim could have been strengthened. in the present form the argument is flawed due to lack of substantial evidence in support of its claim.