Some people believe that scientific discoveries have given us a much better understanding of the world around us. Others believe that science has revealed to us that the world is infinitely more complex than we ever realized.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Science has led to the advancement of humankind. It is a gift which helps us understand things which disguised under magic. Science is the reason we now have aeroplanes and submarines. It is the constant which is always changing and developing. Scientific discoveries have led to industrial revolutions. For example, when fire was merely a means to cook food, it later was used to burn coal which soon enough was the driving force of the Steam Engine Trains. The elements of nature which were once forces to be reckoned with, are now being used to our benefits and further our growth.

In the early ages, the earth was believed to be square, of whose edge we would fall off, and the stars were believed to be shining objects in the sky. But scientific discoveries have revealed to us just how infinitely complex the universe is. The earth is not square and the stars are, in fact, the astronomical objects consisting of plasma. it just makes us realise how much there is yet to discover and explore. A quick reflection on a typical day reveals just how scientific discoveries have revolutionized the world. There are satellites in the orbit which helps us communicate with people on earth. Mars rovers are in production and Nuclear weapons are being developed. All of these would have been inconceivable a couple of centuries back.

Looking back at the first paragraph, one could argue that the scientific discoveries also lead to destruction. however, the pros outweigh the cons. The earlier examples allow the point to be justified within itself. scientific discoveries have led to understanding of gravity and electricity. Innovation and technology provide hope for the future of humanity.

Given the history of human race, yes, there will always be negatives and no limits to the number of unimaginable misuses of technology, however, there will also be the ability to help defeat it. it is time we embrace the hopeful posture to the possibilities laid out by scientific discoveries.