[144] The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of Bargain Brand

Cereals.

One year ago we introduced our first product, Bargain Brand breakfast cereal. Our very low

prices quickly drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal companies. Although the

companies producing the top brands have since tried to compete with us by lowering their

prices and although several plan to introduce their own budget brands, not once have we

needed to raise our prices to continue making a profit. Given our success in selling cereal, we

recommend that Bargain Brand now expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced

food products as quickly as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in

order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are

reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to

evaluate the recommendation.

While it may be true that the Brand Cereals company should take the recommend that marketing other low-priced food products as quickly as possible, however, the arguer ignores certain pivotal concerns when recommending, but they must be addressed to make the argument reasonable.

First, the author makes the conclusion base on current condition to portend the situation in the future. To be more precise, customers who buy low-priced food product currently don't equal that they will spend less money buying in the near future. For example, it could be the nation that predominant cereals market had been in poor condition to harvest cereal and caused price of cereals spiral before the company make a debut of low-priced cereals, the behavior that customers buy low-priced cereals could be reflection of the international affair. Clearly, the argument is built upon an invalid projection for customers responses for such contingent, thus the conclusion is unwarranted.

Second, in spite of the fact Bargain Brand had already drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal companies due to their low-priced food product can lead to the conclusion that they should begin marketing other low-priced products, we cannot rule out other essential causes such as customer preference to cereals type. To be more exactly speaking, the low-priced cereal may add nuts and other healthy elements, that is to say, customers who have stronger intention to keep themselves healthy would like to have these kind of products.

Third, none of date is given in the argument, making a conclusion without based on accurately data is fatal to every companies. Merely evaluating the appearance of this event that low-priced can appeal customers, such evidence to not solid enough for a valid recommendation. For example, they should take a survey on which categories would win customers' favor most and what kind of food product would be the highest cost-performance ratio among other companies' products to customers.

In sum, the argument is not completely sound. The evidence in support of the argument is not solid enough to prove the conclusion that Bargain Brand should further its company benefit by marketing other low-priced food products as soon as they can, because it failed to address several points mentioned above. To strengthen the argument, the author can make plain that cereals types and reason that cause customers to buy low-priced product.