The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of Bargain Brand Cereals.

"One year ago we introduced our first product, Bargain Brand breakfast cereal. Our very low prices quickly drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal companies. Although the companies producing the top brands have since tried to compete with us by lowering their prices and although several plan to introduce their own budget brands, not once have we needed to raise our prices to continue making a profit. Given our success in selling cereal, we recommend that Bargain Brand now expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food products as quickly as possible."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the above memo, the author argues that by introducing low-priced food products Bargain Brand will be profitable in the near future. The author supports his claim based on the success of the previously introduced Bargain Brand’s very low-cost cereal, and, despite, imitating their plan of lowering prices other top brands were unsuccessful to compete against them. However, before evaluating the author’s argument three unstated assumptions need to be answered.

Firstly, the author states that their very low price of breakfast cereal attracts customers without providing any admissible evidence. Maybe people preferred the cereal for its taste only. Perhaps, shortly after introducing new flavoured cereal of top brands, people will prefer top brand cereal rather than sticking with Bargain Brand’s cereal. If one of the above scenarios is true then the author’s claim holds no water. The author does not provide any justifiable evidence regarding his assumption that because of low-cost the Bargain Brand attracted customers. If the author can provide more data perhaps in the form of a statistical data chart about people’s preferences regarding cereal then it will be possible to evaluate the author’s assumption to a certain extent.

Secondly, the author argues that they did not have to aggrandise their prices to compete with top brands despite top brands’ efforts of introducing several budget brands without any evidence. There is a possibility that after the recent economic digress deflation cost of the goods ballooned significantly. Then maintaining the previous low price may not be profitable at all. The author does not provide sufficient evidence regarding the Bargain Brand’s constant low price. If the author can provide more evidence perhaps in the form of a systemic study regarding the market price, then it will strengthen the author’s argument, otherwise, the author’s assumption is built unreliably.

Thirdly, the author argues that they will be lucrative if they introduce new food products at low prices without providing any legitimate evidence. Some may raise questions about the strategy of using circumstances from one thing to generalise and predict others. There is a feasibility that people do not want low-priced food rather they are more concerned about health benefits. In that case, people may not have a penchant for newly introduced low-price food. Then the author’s assumptions are seriously gratuitous. The author has to provide more justifiable authentic evidence perhaps in a form of a survey of people's preferences to rectify his claim.

In conclusion, the author’s argument stands now is seriously flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author can answer the three questions above and offers more evidence perhaps in the form of a systematic research study then it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation that by introducing low-price food products other than cereal the Bargain Brand will be lucrative in the near future.