The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of Bargain Brand Cereals. "One year ago we introduced our first product, Bargain Brand breakfast cereal. Our very low prices quickly drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal companies. Although the companies producing the top brands have since tried to compete with us by lowering their prices and although several plan to introduce their own budget brands, not once have we needed to raise our prices to continue making a profit. Given our success in selling cereal, we recommend that Bargain Brand now expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food products as quickly as possible."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo, the board of directors of Bargain Brand Cereals avers that the company should expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food products sooner. He tries to substantiate his argument by asserting that their significantly low price drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal companies and they have not been required to raise their price for continuing their profit. The argument seems plausible at a first glance; however, the unanswered questions lead readers to conclude that the argument is inherently flawed.

To begin with, the author must answer the question whether their low price is the only possible option of drawing many customers away from the top-selling cereal companies. The author should note that the customer’s proclivity on cereals is multifarious; their decision is not solely dependent on the price. It is possible that some other competitors have emerged, or simply the customer reduced their disburse on cereals due to adverse economical situation. Let alone these blatant and simplistic possibilities, there are numerous possibilities to the decrease of the customers of their competitors. Therefore, the author should analyze all the possible factors and elaborate his argument based on the analysis.

In addition, more answers are needed on whether the situation would be the same in the long run. As evinced in the memo, the introduction of the company’s first product has been only a year, so it is utterly myopic to conclude that the situation will last in the long term. If the current situation is actually caused by the aforementioned other possibilities such as adverse economical situation or the advent of other nascent competitors, then there is no guarantee that the situation will continue in the long run. In other words, that the company has not been needed to raise their prices does not guarantee that they will not be required to raise the price, since the current situation might be an aberration. Therefore, the author needs to strengthen his argument by adding more information about the long-term effect of their low-price policy.

Last but not least, the author needs to supplement his argument of expanding the business and beginning marketing other low-priced products by providing more elaborated answer on how many customers are drawn away from their competitors and whether the cereal and the other low-priced food products have similar inherent characteristics. First, although the author uses the term “many,” he does not clarify how many customers are actually drawn away from the top-selling companies. If the amount of the diminished customer is marginal, for example, the effect of low price should be marginal, and hence it would be not apt to expand their business. In addition, the author is also hastily generalizing the case of the cereal to the other low-priced food products. However, he should notice that the inherent characteristics between the cereal and other low-priced food products are different, so the case of the cereal cannot be simply extended to them.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is not persuasive on many grounds. Therefore, the author should bolster his argument by adding more information such as the long-term effect of their low-price strategy and other possible factors of reduced number of the customers of the top-selling companies.