In 1992, many farmers in Jalikistan began using a hormone designed to produce larger cows that would produce more milk. Since then, childhood obesity in Jalikistan has grown by 200 percent. The amount of milk and dairy consumed by children in this area has not increased or decreased. Children in the same area who are lactose intolerant, and who drink almond milk or soy milk, have not had the same increase in childhood obesity. The only clear explanation is that the introduction of the hormone is responsible for the increase in childhood obesity in that area.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more viable alternatives to the proposed explanation. Justify, with support, why the alternatives could rival the proposed explanation and explain how those explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument presents a fallacious conclusion that connects the introduction of a new hormone for cows with increased obesity among children of the same region. However, the seemingly straightforward reasoning is based on assumptions that have no clear proof. The lack of knowledge of prior trend of obesity rates, limiting the argument to just one type of food, and completely neglecting lifestyle changes can be seen as the Achilles heel of the author’s assertion.

Since the induction of the new hormone, the author states that childhood obesity rates have surged steeply. However, it is not known if the surge was prevalent or not even before the introduction of this new hormone. There is no data on prior obesity rates, hence there is no way to discern the trend of rising obesity levels. The argument only accounts for an abrupt observation made since the onset of a situation, rendering the conclusion faulty.

Children who drank almond milk or soy milk did not show similar obesity traits. Almond milk and soy milk are naturally healthier choices of diet, as compared to normal cow milk. Hence, in no way, does it directly imply that the new hormone degraded the nutritional value of cow milk. There is inadequate information about the deviation of weights, meaning that there could be a possibility of a few major outliers among children who drank cow milk, that significantly changed the results. While the increased rate of obesity is not the same as children who drank cow milk, it does not mean that there has been no increase at all. In fact, it is quite possible that while there is a 200% increase in obesity rates among one group of children, the others showed a 150% rise. The increase is not the same, yet significant. In that case, the argument majorly fails to take into account the rise in obesity rates of children who were clearly not subject to the new hormone.

It is important to note that the only comparison that has been made is over the intake of the type of milk. There is no information whatsoever on the other - possibly similar - food choices among the children of jalikistan. A single source of food, more often than not, does not cause a significantly alarming change in health, unless there is a mammoth intake of that particular item of food. However, the argument clearly mentions that there has been no change in the amount of milk consumed. This severely discredits the conclusion made in the argument.

Another factor that must be taken into account is that the choice of food is not always the absolute reason for obesity. Obesity can be onset by a number of other reasons, lifestyle is one of the main contenders. The argument, in no way, accounts for the lifestyle of the children in Jalikistan. Reduced active time can result from a number of factors, like increased academic pressure which in turn reduces playtime, or urbanisation of towns, leading to a dearth of open spaces to play in, or maybe even increased addiction to TVs, computers, phones or video games. Such changes majorly affect health and obesity rates and are completely overlooked in this argument.

Notwithstanding the observed increase in obesity coinciding with the induction of the new hormone, it is unwise to conclude that the new hormone is the reason for increasing obesity rates. The argument clearly contains major flaws and unproven assumptions and therefore, is in no way a cogent assertion.