Claim: An action is morally correct if the amount of good that results from the action is greater than the amount of bad that results from the action.

Reason: When assessing the morality of an action, the results of the action are more important than the intent of the person or people performing the action.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

It is a well-known fact that there exist myriad paths to the same destination. Similarly, there exists an abundance of methods people can indulge in to achieve the same results. Assessing the morality of a particular course of action is partially dependant on an individual’s perspective. What seems immoral to a person brought up within a particular set of values differs from another’s. However, both the result of any action and the intent behind the action are important in determining whether an action is moral or not.

Living in society dictates that we live harmoniously and are tolerant of the diversity around us. Every individual is brought up with a particular set of stringent morals that may widely differ from another. However, it is parochial to assume that the morals we have grown up with are absolute. Conclusions can only be reached after assessing the entirety of a situation and the same applies for assessing morality. Therefore, it is necessary to be accommodating, and attempt to comprehend the trigger, intent, course and result of an action before we judge for ourselves whether an action is moral or not.

Detectives often use subterfuge to dig out details assisting the solving of a case. Intelligence officers monitor private conversations to keep track of any imminent risks. Whilst such instances can be viewed as clear violations of individual privacy, an immoral act, such actions can be given credibility as long as it is not aimed at harming an individual. The results of such actions are equally important as the intent of these actions. When the intent is questionable, the action can no longer be labelled moral, even if it is largely aimed at attaining a greater good. For example, Edward Snowden leaked NSA’s classified massive surveillance reports, citing that the problem with mass surveillance was that it breached privacy without any particular important intention on the side of the government. This, according to him, was an immoral action, as the intention was dubious.

On the other hand, accidentally stumbling upon a beneficial result does not warrant the morality of an action. Suppose a person, with the intent of robbing, kills an extremely dangerous criminal. The result could be viewed as a boon to society, but the action cannot be classified as ethical. Hence, merely viewing a result can be extremely misleading when it comes to judging the uprightness of an entire course of action. Similarly, there exist white hat hackers, who are certified to work for companies and ethically perform hacks and pentests, to help the company find breaches. On the other hand, there exist hackers who wreck systems, solely for the sake of ransom or some personal gain. While both reveal security breaches in a system, that is ultimately useful, the intention completely changes the morality of the action.

It is increasingly clear, therefore, that there exist various methods to achieve the same result. But each path is different and defining when it comes to distinguishing the morality of actions. An otherwise immoral course of the path can be ethical, as long it is justified. The justification again greatly varies by perspective, but overall, a bad action, performed with a good intention and yielding a good result, can more often than not, be labelled as ethical.