In 1992, many farmers in Jalikistan began using a hormone designed to produce larger cows that would produce more milk. Since then, childhood obesity in Jalikistan has grown by 200 percent. The amount of milk and dairy consumed by children in this area has not increased or decreased. Children in the same area who are lactose intolerant, and who drink almond milk or soy milk, have not had the same increase in childhood obesity. The only clear explanation is that the introduction of the hormone is responsible for the increase in childhood obesity in that area.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more viable alternatives to the proposed explanation. Justify, with support, why the alternatives could rival the proposed explanation and explain how those explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

Explanation of increase in childhood obesity provided by author is cogent. The author statement is also vague as it does not signify any proper evidence on the implication of his study. As stated in the author's statement, the farmers in Jalikistan began using a hormone which have ability to produce large cows which helped them to increase their milk production and hence revenue. It is no clear theory behind the usage of artificial hormone. There is no answer to the question whether the hormone used over cows can be used over humans too.

Obesity is a baneful disease which can be occur to any living being and it can be an implication of various ill habits or some virus. There are various ill habits written in science journals which can cause severe obesity. Milk and dairy products increase the lactose content in living being. whole milk can also increase fat content of the body but it is not evident that the children of Jalikistan are suffering from obesity due to hormone intake. As per stated by author that the amount of consumption of dairy products has not increase or decreased, there is no such validity of the survey. Is the survey was conducted including the complete village or comprised of only affected people?

Survey conducted resulted in 200 percent increase in childhood obesity. This simply implies that the number of children affected with obesity has increase three folds. If we trust the survey, there can be a case of misuse of hormone. But the next statement where author said that the children who are lactose intolerant are not affected with obesity, contradicts this. The illiterate farmers will try to consume the hormone in situation when their child is lactose intolerant. Author's statement strengthens our explanation.

Advancement in technology has been in progress since years. In 1992, farmers employed such hormones which can increase their milk yield. There was always been lack of literacy in farms during 1992 period which might have caused farmers to use the same hormones for their children but that hormone ended up side effecting in return. Government should take their observation over such cases where such baneful diseases are increasing three fold.