Arctic deer live on islands of Canada's arctic region . Author states that decrease in deer population is due to global warming and it is supported by local hunters.

The deterioration of deer population was stated by indigenous hunters , we can not decide on basing of this survey alone

it may be invalid there are no statistical data. Inspite local hunters are reason for reduction of deer population , they might hunted deer and this may be a reason.we cannot completely base on there reports.

animals have a tendency to adopt to the situation they change with environment , when ice melts they can't shift to other place but the food available in their region is sufficient enough for them to survive , there are also other animals who relay on nature and if their population doesn't vary it may not even effect deer also.

The predators population may risen and this may be a reason for reducing deer density , there may a another assumption that if hunters are misleading us and trapping all deer ,or else deer are migrating to other regions which is assumed by hunters as deer population reduced.

In conclusion , author stated assumptions alone are not sufficient to conclude.