According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

The argument concludes that every universities and colleges should adopt same technique called honor code to reduce the cases of cheating among students which is implemented by Groveton College.To support this conclution the argument point outs that after the code was implemented there has been considerable decrese in cheating cases, thus tries to concludes that it the best way to diminish such cases.However , dose scrutiny of this evidences provide little credible support for conclusion.

To begin with, The author bring a report which tells that cheating among college and university is increasing everyday. But to support this report auther provides no evidence like from where this result of report came from is the report conducted by an authenticated organisation or just by some random people of the college or this might the case that report was conducted among only few institution where the such cases are already on the rise.

Secondly, the author continues by telling that the new system that was implemented by the groveton college experienced fall in the cheating cases. To bolster the authors clain he provides a data that reported of such cases reduced to 21 and 14 after one and five year respectively provides no evidence that from how many students the result taken . If the student ratio after the honor code is already vey less than this reduction does not attack the conclusion . Also this might be the situation that after the system was placed the student who were suppose to notify the faculty member about such cases does not report this to their respective faculty members than no cases will ever reported.

Finally, the arguments provides the evidence that majority of students have stated that after the honor code were implemented less people will likely to cheat . But the author has not provided how many student have agreed with the new system or number of students who were surveyed.

In final analysis, the argument is uniconvincing as it stands. To bolster the argument the auther must provide compelling evidences that the student ratio of cheating has correctly been reduced and the system is quite beneficial to other universities too .In order to better evaluate the argument